Selfish Post 5

Posted on July 31, 2010

0


I think I’ve made up my mind. I’m really enjoying the new Blogger. I’ve been able to do so much and have my blog look how I exactly wanted it to. w00t!

Let’s continue, shall we?
Day 05 → Your favorite quote

Rollins
Yup. Same man.

If you know me on a personal level, you know about my love, infatuation, fascination and admiration with Henry Rollins. If you didn’t know that, consider yourself schooled! Whatever.
I’ve been able to go to TWO of his spoken word shows. Each time I had the chills. I even managed to be FIVE FEET away from him. I was so close to a photo op, but he was so busy with the fans. I felt I was miniscule, who am I to ask The Great Rollins for a picture?! I did manage to take a few shots of him talking to fans before hitting the stage. I’ll share those soon.

I wish I could settle for ONE quote of his. I have to share just a few. Everything that comes out of this man’s mouth has meaning. And for that, I adore him. He’s smart. He educates himself. He’s curious. He forms his own opinions. He doesn’t take bullshit. He fronted one of the greatest punk bands of all time (Black Flag). He’s the person I aim to be. He’s definitely a hero.

Along with the quotes! All from Hank 😉
“Scar tissue is stronger than regular tissue. Realize the strength, move on.”

“Half of life is fucking up, the other half is dealing with it.”

“Don’t do anything by half. If you love someone, love them with all your soul. When you go to work, work your ass off. When you hate someone, hate them until it hurts.”

“I don’t want to pass through life like a smooth plane ride. All you do is get to breathe and copulate and finally die. I don’t want to go with the smooth skin and the calm brow. I hope I end up a blithering idiot cursing the sun – hallucinating, screaming, giving obscene and inane lectures on street corners and public parks. People will walk by and say, “Look at that drooling idiot. What a basket case.” I will turn and say to them, “It is you who are the basket case. For every moment you hated your job, cursed your wife and sold yourself to a dream that you didn’t even conceive. For the times your soul screamed yes and you said no. For all of that. For your self-torture, I see the glowing eyes of the sun! The air talks to me! I am at all times!” And maybe, the passers by will drop a coin into my cup.”

“When life hands you a lemon, say, ‘Oh yeah, I like lemons! What else ya got?'”

—–
Oh yeah, that’s some good stuff.

Posted in: Rollins